Task Force on Hunger 2024 Report

The Task Force on Hunger (TFH) is a committee comprised of volunteers from congregations throughout the Diocese. As part of the Jubilee Ministries, its mission is to support food and hunger ministries and does so through outreach to raise awareness, create relationships and advocate; and through resources to provide information and most critically, funding. Apart from small donations from churches and individuals, the funds distributed are provided by the Diocese. Parishes seeking funding are required to fill out an application, which the committee then reviews and determines how the monies are to be apportioned. There are some restrictions to how the funds may be used – for example, not for kitchen or garden equipment – and so, the grants are principally used to supplement current hunger ministries, or for more modest but critically important hunger ministries such as Blessings Boxes. The importance of all these ministries to their respective communities is reflected in the applications the TFH receives and following the unfortunate trend of the last several years, the monies requested have increased significantly. In 2023, for the 2024 funding period, the Task Force received (19) applications of which only one did not qualify, with a total requested amount of over \$57,000. With an operating budget of just over \$25,000, many hard decisions as to the distributions had to be made as it is the intent to provide some funding, even if it is not all that is requested, to all applications that qualify. No matter the amount received, the appreciation shown by all the grant recipients bears witness to the importance that the Task Force continues to have in the Diocese.

The current members are:
Sam Christy – Holy Cross, Popular Bluff
Barbi Click – Christ Church Cathedral
Cheryl Lynn Esssner – Christ Church, Cape Girardeau
Scott Ferguson – Holy Communion, University City
Shari Kelts – Emmanuel, Webster Groves
David Luckes – St. Francis, Eureka
Sharon Meusch – Christ Church, Rolla
Andy Miller – Grace, Kirkwood
Beth Simpson – Calvary, Columbia
Agnes Uhls – Trinity, St. James