Report from Standing Committee to 185th Diocesan Convention

According to the Constitution of the Episcopal Church, "the Standing Committee shall be the Bishop's Council of Advice." During 2024, the following 12 committee members served in that capacity:

Lay Members

- Alexa Brewen St. Paul's Ironton
- Scott Ferguson Holy Communion University City
- Tim Korte Trinity Central West End
- Pat O'Brien Grace Kirkwood
- Rudy Walz Holy Communion University City
- Machelle West All Saints and Ascension St. Louis

Ordained Members

- Kathie Adams-Shepherd Dean, Christ Church Cathedral St Louis
- Emily Hillquist Davis Rector, Church of the Advent Crestwood
- Chester Hines, Jr. Deacon, Holy Communion University City
- Earl Mahan Interim priest, Holy Communion University City
- Ryan Missel Priest in charge, Christ Church Cape Girardeau
- Sally Weaver Priest in charge St. John & St. James Sullivan

Bishop Deon discussed clergy transitions with us, property issues, confidential ecclesial matters, and ideas about church growth and clergy deployment. We approved the following ordinations and property-related matters:

Ordinations - wider church

- Austin Keith Rios Bishop Coadjutor of California
- Dorothy Sanders Wells Bishop of Mississippi
- Kara Wagner Sherer Bishop of Rochester
- Phil N. LaBelle Bishop of Olympia
- Julia E. Whitworth Bishop of Massachusetts
- Consent for election of a Bishop Suffragan West Texas

Ordinations – Diocese of Missouri

- Parker Williams transitional diaconate
- Valerie Patton diaconate
- Jared Moore priesthood
- Zack Rugenstone priesthood

Property

- Hope Church Town & Country contract for a broadband easement
- Church of the Advent Crestwood lease to "Little Leaders Academy"
- White Fund grant to St. John's Tower Grove for air conditioning

- White Fund grant to Transfiguration Lake St. Louis for special HOA assessment
- White Fund grant to St. Francis' Eureka for flood damage mitigation
- Lease of 6522 Michigan Ave., property of St. Paul's Carondelet
- Approval to sell house owned by Holy Communion University City
- Refinancing of the White Fund loan to Christ Church Rolla
- Adopted a distribution policy of 4% for White Fund grants

We're grateful to Scott Ferguson, who served as Vice President, and the Rev. Dr. Emily Hillquist Davis, who served as Secretary. We give thanks for Bishop Deon, the Diocesan staff, and all members of the Standing Committee for their work.

We enjoyed their participation and will miss the following members whose term is expiring: the Very Rev. Kathie Adams-Shepherd, Ms. Alexa Brewen, and the Rev. Emily Hillquist Davis.

Respectfully submitted,

The Rev. Sally S. Weaver President, Standing Committee